Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Retrieval #2

These past few weeks have been insane. Between a much-needed Fall break (thank God for 4-day weekends!) and Homecoming Week (how much sugar have these students been eating?!?), I have just about been at the top of my stress levels.

After last time, we decided to sit back and re-group while nature took its course. We contacted the office to get started again with a new protocol. Still natural cycle IVF, just changing things up a little bit to catch the eggs in time. I wasn't feeling as hopeful this round since the doctor said there was still a good chance I could ovulate on my own despite the Ganirelix.

I started my shots last Wednesday and finished them on Monday. This was a short time compared to the 8 days last time! My follicles developed quickly and the lining looked good on Monday, so they had me trigger with the HCG Monday night. I had been charting my temps, so I was keeping a hawk eye on those in case they suddenly went up (which usually indicates ovulation). I had a lot of cervical fluid that also indicated that I was very fertile (EWCM). This made me even more nervous because it happened last time. So I wasn't feeling too good about my chances this morning. My temperature went up, the fluid appeared to dry up, and I didn't feel as 'full' as I had the day before. I was very upset already about my chances.

We got to the clinic early (doors were still locked!) and got checked in. I went in for a preliminary scan. This made me feel better- last time, they took me straight back to the OR and I had no time to adjust. The scan room is where I've been going, so I felt less anxious in there. My doctor came in (thankfully, she's the one I like- the other one is fine and professional, but I like her better) and asked how we were doing. We told her we thought I'd ovulated already. She seemed surprised and said that my hormone levels wouldn't have suggested that, but that we would take a look.

The ultrasound revealed NO OVULATION!! Hallelujah!! I had 3 very big, healthy-looking follicles they wanted to get to, so we immediately went back to the prep room to get me ready. I opted for anesthesia this time, so the lady was there asking me all kinds of questions while I got ready to nap. Thankfully, she gave me a numbing shot for the IV since it was going in my hand (ouch). Before I knew it, I kissed DH good luck for his part and walked into the OR. I was instantly anxious again, but soon after I got into place, the anesthesia lady did her thing and I promptly passed out. When I woke up, they scooted me over to a stretcher and got me to the recovery room.

DH was there waiting for me. The embryologist came out and said they were successfully able to retrieve 3 eggs! She said that is quite a lot for a natural cycle, and that they would be fertilized later this afternoon. We were both thrilled and excited. I just kept silently praising God, thank you, thank you, thank you.

We went home. I took some Tylenol with codeine for the pain- it wasn't too bad, kind of like strong period cramps. I wasn't sleepy for a while, so I just laid on the couch curled up under a blanket until I did fall asleep. I woke up just in time for the embryologist to call. She said all 3 eggs had great quality (yay gametes!) and that she was able to fertilize all of them. She will call us tomorrow to let us know if they are developing correctly. We hope that all of them get to become embryos. I am praying so much for those little bundles of DNA right now- our future child/children!!!

We know there's a long way to go- first developing, then transfer, then implantation...then development...but we at least have jumped the first hurdle in our journey to becoming parents. That makes me feel very, very good. We have made more progress today than in the last 4 years!

Here's to hoping- namaste!

No comments:

Post a Comment